Results Home‎ > ‎Previous Years‎ > ‎News‎ > ‎

Season Winners of 2015

posted Nov 17, 2015, 3:42 AM by Results Admin   [ updated Jan 11, 2016, 3:22 AM by Dabchicks Admin ]
Thank you to all those who made it to the End of Season Prize Giving on Saturday 14th November. 

The table was again brimming with Trophies and Glassware and there were lots of smiles and rounds of applause to congratulate the seasons' club series winners and the seven 'Rising Star' awards.

Roger rattled through the list, finishing with the Overall Club Champions who will have their names recorded on the club honours board in the bar.  Well done Julian and Joe!

Series/Event Class Cup Name
Name Boat Class/Name

Saturday Spring Dinghy Series Fast Acorn Challenge Cup Freddie Rogers 1st Freddie Rogers Laser 4.7
2nd Angus Eckstein Laser Radial
3rd Hamish Eckstein Laser Radial
Slow USRobotics Trophy 4 Joe Purdie 1st Joe Purdie Topper
2nd Lucy Newman Topper
3rd Thomas Williams Tera
Optimist Double Diamond Cup Gabby Clifton 1st Gabby Clifton Optimist
2nd Thea Taylor Optimist
3rd Max Harris Optimist

Spring Cruiser Series IRC Uncle Stanley's Mug (MSP 2) J Lord, Scallywag
White Sails Frank Ashworth Trophy (WS1) J & P French, Waterlilly
White Sails Wishbone Cup (WS2) T Spiro, Stella Lyra
IRC Rainbird Trophy J Lord, Scallywag
IRC Overall Spring Points 1st J Lord Scallywag

2nd (E Allan & P Rowe) (Fizz)

3rd (L Knifton) (Brandyhole)
Local H/C Overall Spring Points 1st S Farren Camel

2nd J Davis Clockwise

3rd J & P French Waterlilly

Sonata Sonata Spring Point- Neep Trophy

S Farren Camel

White Sails Bradwell Quay Trophy (WS3) P J Clifton, Starfall 2

Saturday Summer Dinghy Series Fast The Jeffrey Cup James Brosnan-Wren 1st James Brosnan-Wren Laser 4.7
2nd Ray Smith Solo
3rd Hamish Eckstein Laser Radial
Slow Essex County Standard Cup Joe Purdie 1st Joe Purdie Topper
2nd Ryan Bailey Topper
3rd Zeb, Dan, Angus Milgate RS Feva XL
Optimist The Cutts Challenge Trophy Charlotte Allen 1st Charlotte Allen Optimist
2nd Theo Clifton Optimist
3rd Eddie Harris Optimist

Commodores Cup IRC Commodores Cup not awarded 1st


Local H/C Paula Cup
1st L Pearson & D Weston Hex

2nd T Hawkes & P Hill Aubie Too

Rising Stars Tankards-
Friday Nights John Fisher- Race Officer in training. Neil Smith- Student of Flags and Moorings

Friday Nights Cruiser Series Local H/C Midsummer Madness + bottle (1st Overall)
1st Glanville, Heathcote & Vince Reasons to be Cheerful
2nd J Lord Scallywag
3rd M Struth Wild Chorus
Local H/C Jonskies Rum Bucket (1st Small boat) Glanville, Heathcote Vince, Reasons to be Cheerful
Local H/C Lorna Haynes Memorial Plate (1st Non IRC) S Farren, Camel
Sonata AEP (1st Sonata) S Farren, Camel
Sonata Reverie (1st Most Improved Sonata) D Chadwick, Keehar
J80 J Cup (Wooded Bowl , Best J80) J Bollingbroke, JB's 80
Local H/C Friday Night Goblet (Most Improved Non IRC) L Pearson & D Weston, Hex

Sundowner Dinghy Series Overall US Robotics Silver Plate 1 James Brosnan-Wren 1st James Brosnan-Wren Laser 4.7
2nd Brian & Linda Cumming Enterprise
3rd Joe Purdie Topper
Optimist Cass Cup No Optimists entered 1st



Ladies Dinghy Regatta Fast Chris Debieux Memorial Plate for Ladies Maddie Clifton 1st Maddie Clifton Laser 4.7
2nd Liz Simpson Laser 4.7
3rd Sally-Anne Turnbull Europe
Slow Tony & Eve Minns Cup Jackie Bessey 1st Jackie Bessey Pico
2nd Belinda Marfleet & M Lindup RS Feva XL
3rd Marysa Mason Phillips Topper Taz

Monday Night Dinghy Series All-in-one Les Green Memorial Cup Richard Green & Paul Chandler 1st Richard Green & Paul Chandler RS500
2nd Henry Wells & Matt Heathcote B14
3rd Brian & Linda Cumming Enterprise

Dinghy Championships Fast The Truman Cup Brian & Linda Cumming 1st Brian & Linda Cumming Enterprise
2nd Hamish Eckstein Laser Radial
3rd James Brosnan-Wren Laser 4.7
Slow J W Banks Cup Joe Purdie 1st Joe Purdie Topper
2nd Ryan Bailey Topper
3rd Amy Struth & Lucy Aird-Brown Feva XL
Optimist Enterprise Trophy Charlotte Allen 1st Charlotte Allen Optimist
2nd Eddie Harris Optimist
3rd Theo Clifton Optimist

Rising Stars Tankards-
Mersea Week In recognition of extra effort and endurance in the bar during the busiest Mersea week in recent years.
Becky Tilsley, Georgia Grice, Lee Fuller, Sam Lee.

RNLI Pennant Race Local H/C 1st Dabchicks Boat (DSC Glass Tankard) S Yeates, Stilletto
Autumn Cruiser Series White Sails Ide Salver(WS5) D Lewis, Cirrus
IRC/ LH Crowe Ellis Cup (MAP 1) T & R Ramsay, Mojito
White Sails Markham Plate (WS7) P J Clifton, Starfall 2
IRC/ LH Woods Cup (MAP 3) not awarded
IRC Autumn Points, Gosling Goblet J Lord, Scallywag
IRC/ LH Overton Trophy (MAP 4) J Lord, Scallywag
Sonata Sonata Autumn Trophy D Chadwick, Keehar
IRC Overall Autumn Points 1st J Lord Scallywag
2nd (T & R Ramsay) (Mojito)
3rd (L Knifton) (Brandyhole)
Local H/C Overall Autumn Points 1st E Taylor Toucan
2nd S Turnbull & G Hunt Bugsy
3rd D Chadwick Keehar
Absolute Beaver Trophy, Best Sport Boat Overall E Allen & P Rowe, Fizz

Saturday Autumn Dinghy Series Fast Nass Bowl James Brosnan-Wren 1st James Brosnan-Wren Laser 4.7
2nd Hamish Stewart Solo
3rd Toby Ramsay OK
Slow USRobotics Plate 2 Thomas Williams 1st Thomas Williams Topper
2nd Joe Purdie Topper
3rd Garry Wren Topper
Optimist USRobotics Plate 3 No Optimists entered 1st



Christmas Pudding Dinghy Race 2015 Christmas Pudding Trophy 1st

Christmas Cracker Trophy 2nd


Rising Star Volunteer Award – DSC Glass Tankard, Stew Williams
In recognition of range of volunteering for a wide range of roles throughout the season
including Support Boats, Galley duties and Powerboat School.
Overall Cruiser Champion for the
Bert Prior Trophy
J Lord, Scallywag
Overall Dinghy Champion for the
The Dabchicks Trophy
Joe Purdie, Topper